Rise Up

provo-canyon-sunrise-769660-gallery

“Our destiny is not determined by the number of times we stumble but the number of times we rise up, dust ourselves off, and move forward.” -President Dieter F. Uchtdorf (You Can Do It Now)

Some days are harder than others.  I know it is that way for everyone.  We all make mistakes and we all stumble in life.  It is bound to happen!  We are imperfect people and that is okay.  There is this song that talks about dancing through life.  I always used to joke around and say that I was just stumbling through life.  I know that I stumble all the time, but I know now with the Gospel of Jesus Christ I can get back up again.

When I was younger I broke my leg and had to get major surgery to fix it.  It was during the winter and using crutches on really wet tile can prove to be pretty dangerous.  I remember one day I had left the classroom (for what I cannot remember), but I slipped and fell in the hall.  My cast went all the way from my hip bone to my ankle and I wasn’t the most graceful person to begin with;).  Sitting in the middle of the hallway stuck on the wet floor and very embarrassed I tried to see if anyone was in the hallway.  No one was!  Feeling even more embarrassed I called out quietly, “Is anyone there?”  I did so a little louder and a man came around the corner and saw me on the ground.  He rushed over as I said timidly, “I fell and can’t get up.”  He helped me up and told me not to be embarrassed–that it could happen to anyone.  So I moved forward and soon forgot about that literal stumble in my life.

We truly can get back up again and continue moving forward.  Shake the dust off–move on.  Through Christ all things are possible.  Let us keep moving forward along the path:)

Leave a comment